Deprecated: addcslashes(): Passing null to parameter #1 ($string) of type string is deprecated in /var/www/ on line 1785

Deprecated: addcslashes(): Passing null to parameter #1 ($string) of type string is deprecated in /var/www/ on line 1785
July 12 2024


An archive of Star Trek News

'Enterprise' Up For Three 'Spaceys'

By Caillan
March 21, 2004 - 7:47 AM

Star Trek: Enterprise will be competing in three viewer's choice categories at the Second Annual Spacey Awards on April 18.

Hosted by Canadian entertainment network Space: The Imagination Station, the awards seek to honour the best in genre film and television. While the winners in six categories will be chosen by a panel of experts, a further eight fields will be voted for by fans.

Enterprise is up for Favourite TV Series, competing against ABC's spy drama, Alias, the WB's Smallville and Angel and the Sci-Fi Channel's mini-series, Steven Spielberg Presents Taken. Last year's winner, Buffy The Vampire Slayer, has finished its television run and thus is not eligible.

The NX-01's fearless commander, Jonathan Archer, is nominated in the category of Favourite Male TV Character. He will have to do battle with Clark Kent and Lex Luther from Smallville, Angel's Spike and Stargate SG-1'S Colonel Jack O'Neill to take out the gong.

T'Pol, last year's winner of Favourite TV Hottie (story), a category not being contested this year, is nominated in the category of Favourite Female TV Character. The Vulcan Sub-Commander will face off with Sydney Bristow (Alias), Shalimar Fox (Mutant X), Phoebe Halliwell (Charmed) and Smallville's Lana Lang.

William Shatner (James T. Kirk) was awarded last year's Lifetime Achievement Award. This year that honour will go to SFX maestro Ray Harryhausen, with a Special Achievement Award to be bestowed on Peter Jackson, the Academy Award-winning director of The Lord of the Rings trilogy.

The Spacey Awards are a traveling event, with "no seats, no sets and no red carpet". Instead, the awards are presented throughout the night by celebrities in different locations around the world. "With special guests, viewer voting, lots of clips and more than a few surprises, The Spaceys remains the only awards show that travels the globe, while providing a uniquely Canadian perspective on the sci-fi, fantasy and horror genres," said Paul Gratton, General Manager of Space: The Imagination Station.

Voting in the viewer's choice categories will be open until March 28. To register your vote for the Enterprise nominees, head over to the Spaceys web site. The 2004 Awards will air on April 18 at 9:00 p.m. Eastern Time. Thanks to 'TRexx''s Spaceys site for this!

Discuss this news item at Trek BBS!
XML Add TrekToday RSS feed to your news reader or My Yahoo!
Also a CSI: Crime Scene Investigation fan? Then visit!

Find more episode info in the Episode Guide.

You may have missed