Sailors Of The Year Take Their 'First Flight'

By Caillan
March 19, 2003 - 8:01 AM

See Also: 'First Flight' Episode Guide

'Sailors of the Year' photo - copyright Paramount PicturesThe USS Enterprise's "Sailors of the Year" recently filmed cameo appearances in an upcoming Enterprise episode for the second year in a row.

This year's winners, Petty Officer Kathy J. Grant, Petty Officer James D. Frey and Corpsman Thomas P. Hunt, shot their scenes in the episode "First Flight" on Monday, March 17, according to a press release.

While on the set, the sailors presented actors Scott Bakula (Jonathan Archer), Connor Trinneer (Charles 'Trip' Tucker) and director LeVar Burton (Geordi La Forge) with a flag from the aircraft carrier to thank the cast and crew for their support.

The USS Enterprise crew have kept in regular contact with their fictional counterparts aboard the NX-01 since the show's debut. While serving overseas, the crew were regularly sent tapes of Enterprise episodes, and Scott Bakula recorded a message welcoming the aircraft carrier home in November, 2001. Last year's "Sailors of the Year" appeared in "Desert Crossing", and presented the cast and crew with a special commemorative plaque while on the Paramount lot.

"First Flight", which reportedly deals with the birth of Starfleet's long-range space programme, is currently slated to air on May 14. The original press release is available at Yahoo! Finance.

Discuss this news item at Trek BBS!
XML Add TrekToday RSS feed to your news reader or My Yahoo!
Also a CSI: Crime Scene Investigation fan? Then visit!

Find more episode info in the Episode Guide.