Deprecated: addcslashes(): Passing null to parameter #1 ($string) of type string is deprecated in /var/www/ on line 1785

Deprecated: addcslashes(): Passing null to parameter #1 ($string) of type string is deprecated in /var/www/ on line 1785
July 19 2024


An archive of Star Trek News

'Mission: Gamma' Authors Announced

By Caillan
July 18, 2001 - 11:41 AM

Pocket Books editor Marco Palmieri announced the authors of the new 'Mission: Gamma' Deep Space Nine novel series on Monday.

Palmieri told posters at the Psi Phi Books BBS that the four-part book series, which centres around exploration in the Gamma Quadrant, would be released in September and October 2002.

Book one will be written by David R. George III, who collaborated with Armin Shimerman (Quark) on the novel 'The 34th Rule'. The next installment is to be penned by Heather Jarman, who, although a new novelist, should be familiar to Internet readers through her columns and reviews at Delta Blues and the SlipstreamWeb.

Writing book three are Michael A. Martin and Andy Mangels, authors of the TNG Section 31 novel, 'Rogue'. Palmieri also announced that Martin and Mangels have penned a new 'Excelsior' novel, with title and publication date to follow soon. Finally, book four is to be written by Robert Simpson, co-author of 'Allegro Ouroboros in D minor,' which formed part of 'The Lives Of Dax' anthology.

Jarman dropped a few hints about the content of the novels. "Each writer has bonded with a character that they are going to explore in the 'A' plot of their book," she wrote at the Psi Phi Books BBS. "At this point, Shar [Thirishar ch'Thane - the Andorian science officer] and Ezri [Dax] will be central to my 'A' plot."

"My expectations for 'Mission: Gamma' are high because I know the writers are committed to crafting novels that reflect not only good Trek, but interesting sci-fi," Jarman said. "With Marco [Palmieri] as the proverbial North Star, I'm confident the series will come safely into harbor with most fans pleased with the journey they've been taken on."

The Deep Space Nine relaunch novels continue the story of the station's crew after the events of 'What You Leave Behind,' starting with 'Avatar, Books One and Two'. The relaunch includes some new faces such as the station's first officer, Commander Vaughn, and the above-mentioned science officer, Andorian Ensign Thirishar ch'Thane.

The announcement can be found here at Psi Phi.

Discuss this news item at Trek BBS!
XML Add TrekToday RSS feed to your news reader or My Yahoo!
Also a CSI: Crime Scene Investigation fan? Then visit!

Find more episode info in the Episode Guide.

You may have missed