Voting For 2001 Psi Phi Awards Begins

By Caillan
December 5, 2001 - 12:34 PM

Voting for the second annual Psi Phi awards began Saturday to honour the very best in Star Trek literature.

Organised by David Henderson at Psi Phi, the awards cover 16 categories such as Best Novel, Best Short Story, Best New Novelist and Best Cover.

There are also several Hall of Fame awards which encompass every single authorised or unauthorised Trek book ever published. Previous winners include Peter David for 'Imzadi' and Michael Okuda, Denise Okuda and Debbie Mirek for the 'Star Trek Encylopedia'.

One very special award is 'The Ordie,' named after Pocket Books executive editor John Ordover. Participants may vote for anyone who has ever been involved in the production of a Star Trek work who they feel is worthy of special commendation.

Voting for the awards continues until January 26, 2001. Participants do not have to vote in each category, but cannot vote more than once in an a category.

To see the full list of nominations and for exact voting details, head over to Psi Phi.

Pocket Books executive editor John Ordover is looking for fans to help him promote an upcoming Star Trek novel release.

"I'm trying to put together a bunch of the Botany Bay micro machines for use in a promotion for 'Eugenics Wars: Volume Two by Greg Cox,' due out in April," he wrote.

"To that end, anyone sending me the Botany Bay micro machine at John Ordover, Star Trek Department, Pocket Books, 1230 6th Ave, New York, NY 10020, will receive a free copy of the book. Also, if anyone has a source for a bulk purchase of Botany Bay micro machines, please let me know."

Further details on the book can be found here at Psi Phi.

Discuss this news item at Trek BBS!
XML Add TrekToday RSS feed to your news reader or My Yahoo!
Also a CSI: Crime Scene Investigation fan? Then visit!

Find more episode info in the Episode Guide.