Mulgrew, Ryan & Voyager Up For Saturn Awards

By Amy
April 5, 2001 - 10:44 PM

Star Trek and Trek associates have once again garnered a number of nominations in this year's Saturn Awards.

In the running for the second year in a row is Voyager's Kate Mulgrew (Janeway), who's been nominated alongside such notables from the sci-fi worlds as Gillian Anderson ('The X-Files'), Claudia Black, 'Farscape' and Sarah Michelle Gellar ('Buffy the Vampire Slayer') for the title of Best Actress in a TV Series. From Voyager, Mulgrew is joined by Jeri Ryan (Seven of Nine) who's also been nominated for the second year running as Best Supporting Actress in a tv series. Meanwhile, Voyager itself is up for Best Network Television Series.

The Next Generation's Patrick Stewart (Jean-Luc Picard) has also been nominated again, but then for his role as Professor X in 'The X-Men'. He joins the likes of Jason Alexander ('The Adventures of Rocky & Bullwinkle'), Willem Dafoe ('Shadow of the Vampire'), Dennis Quaid ('Frequency')among others, fighting it out for the Best Supporting Actor award.

The official Star Trek site reports that a number of Trek alums have been nominated in technical categories. These include Jerry Goldsmith and James Horner, both nominated for the Music Award. Goldsmith, up for 'Hollow Man', scored 'Star Trek: The Motion Picture' and the theme song for TNG and Voyager. Horner, nominated for his work on 'Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas' wrote the score of 'Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan' and 'The Search for Spock'.

In the Makeup category, Jeff Dawn and Edouard Henriques are up for the awards, while Scott E. Anderson and Habib Zargarpour have been nominated for Special Effects. Dawn and Henriques worked together on 'The Final Frontier', while Anderson and Zargarpour were responsible for the effects on 'The Undiscovered Country' and 'Generations' respectively.

The Saturn Awards are handed out by the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films annually and have been for roughly the past 27 years. The organization was founded in 1972 by the late Dr. Donald A. Reed as an off-shoot of his more popular group, The Count Dracula Society, with the aim to "honor, recognize, and promote genre films". Considered by many to be the world's leading authority on Count Dracula, and even listed the World Almanac Book of Buffs as such, Dr. Reed passed away last month.

Star Trek has a long and often fruitful history with the Saturn awards. In 1980, William Shatner (James T. Kirk) & Gene Roddenberry jointly received the Life Career award, to be followed by Leonard Nimoy (Spock) in 1987 and the late Ray Walston (Boothby) in 1989. Shatner also went on to win the Best Actor award in 1983.

Last year's awards saw a number of nominations for Star Trek. 'Star Trek: Deep Space 9' , for example, was up for best Syndicated series, while Patrick Stewart was nominated for 'A Christmas Carol' and Robert Picardo (The Doctor) was nominated for Best Supporting Actor on a tv series.

Trek spoof 'Galaxy Quest' was also nominated in several categories, including 'Best Actor', which Tim Allen carried home. 'Free Enterprise' and 'Trekkies' were both also nominated for Best Genre Home Video Release

The full listing of nominees in this year's Saturn Awards may be found by following this link to Sci Fi Wire, while the official site's report may be found here.

Discuss this news item at Trek BBS!
XML Add TrekToday RSS feed to your news reader or My Yahoo!
Also a CSI: Crime Scene Investigation fan? Then visit!

Find more episode info in the Episode Guide.