Trek SET Award



The Third Annual SET Awards were held today and Star Trek into Darkness was one of the honorees.

The SET Awards are “presented to movies, TV series, radio and TV news programs, print and online journalism for accurate and impactful entertainment portraying and promoting the fields of science, engineering, technology and mathematics.”

Co-hosted by Bill Nye the Science Guy, and Alison Haislip (The Morning After), the honorees included:

  • Star Trek into Darkness (Feature Film)
  • World War Z (feature Film)
  • The Big Bang Theory Season Six (Comedy Series)
  • Elementary: Two Possibilities (Drama Series)
  • NCIS: Detour (Drama Series)
  • Person of Interest: Season 2 (Technologist Award)
  • Grey’s Anatomy: Idle Hands (Drama Series)
  • Space Warrior (TV Movie)
  • Escape From Planet Earth (Children’s Production)
  • The Big Brain Theory: Pure Genius: Season 1 (Documentary/Unscripted Non-fiction)
  • Mythbusters: Season 11 (Documentary/Unscripted Non-fiction)
  • Nova: Season 40 (Documentary/Unscripted Non-fiction)
  • Science of the Summer Olympics (Original Internet Content)
  • Fantastic Four: Road Trip comic book (Scientist Award)
  • The Jackhammer Elegies by Stefan Jaeger (Scientist Award)
  • Fox’s Bones: The Bod in the Pod (Scientist Award)
  • Iron Man 3 (Engineer Award)

Filmmaker Bryan Singer (X-Men: Days of Future Past) received the Bob Gurr Leadership & Inspiration Award for his “body of work utilizing and featuring cutting edge science, engineering, and technology including the X-Men movies and Superman Returns.”

Source: PRWeb

What do you think? Chat with other fans in the at The Trek BBS.




Up Next