Trek Alumni Receive Motion Picture Academy Invitation

One hundred-and-thirty-five people who have distinguished themselves in the motion picture industry were invited to join the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences, including several affiliated with Star Trek XI.

The invitees were drawn from the following categories: actors, animators, art directors, at-large, casting directors, cinematographers, costume designers, directors, documentary, executives, film editors, live action short films, makeup artists and hair stylists, music, producers, production designers, public relations, set decorators, sound, visual effects and writers.

Of note to Star Trek fans are the following who were invited to join:

  • Actors: Zoë Saldana
  • Make-up Artists and Hairstylists: Mindy Hall, Joel Harlow
  • Visual Effects: Russell Earl
  • Writers: Alex Kurtzman, Roberto Orci

“The work of these individuals has been appreciated by moviegoers all around the world,” said Academy President Tom Sherak. “The Academy is proud to invite each and every one of them.”

New members will be welcomed into the Academy in September at an invitation-only reception in Beverly Hills.


What do you think? Chat with other fans in the Star Trek Kelvin universe movies forum at The Trek BBS.




Up Next