Star Trek Saturn Award Winners

Last night was the 39th Annual Saturn Awards and while Avatar dominated, winning ten Saturn Awards, Star Trek didn’t leave totally empty-handed.

Star Trek XI was represented in the awards with a win in the Best Make-up collection, the award going to Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Jean Harlow for their work on the movie.

For Best DVD collection, the Star Trek Original Motion Picture Collection won a Saturn Award.

Other awards of note:

  • Best Actress: Zoë Saldana (Avatar)
  • Guest Starring Role on Television: Leonard Nimoy (Fringe)
  • The George Pal Memorial Award: Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman

Other Awards for which Star Trek was nominated but did not win:

  • Best Science Fiction Film. Lost to Avatar.
  • Best Direction (J.J. Abrams). Lost to James Cameron (Avatar).
  • Best Writer (Kurtzman/Orci). Lost to James Cameron (Avatar).
  • Best Production Design. (Scott Chambliss). Lost to Rick Carter, Robert Stromberg (Avatar).
  • Best Special Effects (Roger Guyett, Russell Earl, Paul Kavanagh, Burt Dalton). Lost to Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham, Andrew R. Jones (Avatar).

Source: Saturn Awards

What do you think? Chat with other fans in the Star Trek Kelvin universe movies forum at The Trek BBS.




Up Next