Roddenberry Induction Ceremony Today

The Television Hall of Fame ceremony will honor seven inductees into the Hall of Fame this evening and amongst the inductees are Gene Roddenberry, Star Trek creator.

Roddenberry joins actress Candice Bergen, art director Charles Lisanby, announcer Don Pardo, comedy and music talents Tom and Dick Smothers and game show creator Bob Stewart as the newest members of the Hall of Fame.

Roddenberry012010“Each year, the Television Academy has the privilege of honoring television greats that have contributed to the development and success of this ever-evolving medium,” said Television Academy Chairman-CEO John Shaffner. “We are very pleased to be able to induct them into the Hall of Fame for their many achievements.”

“To have the opportunity to once again be a part of the Hall of Fame Selection Committee is a true honor,” said Mark Itkin, chairman of the Hall of Fame selection committee. “These individuals have each made extraordinary and lasting contributions that have meant so much to multiple generations of television viewers. Their work will endure for decades to come.”

Roddenberry, a two-time Primetime Emmy Award-nominee, created the Star Trek franchise, with eleven theatrical movies, six television series (including the animated series.)

The ceremony will be held the Beverly Hills Hotel.


What do you think? Chat with other fans in the Star Trek - Original & Animated series forum at The Trek BBS.




Up Next